Friday, June 25, 2010

Will Peter Jackson direct The Hobbit?

Several insider websites are reporting that Peter Jackson is in talks to replace Guillermo Del Toro as director of the The Hobbit.

While some fans had been looking forward to seeing someone else's vision of Middle-earth, many others would be delighted if Jackson were to return. A few years ago Peter Jackson seemed like the only possible choice, before legal disputes with New Line began a process that ended with him handing over the reins to Del Toro.

Jackson has several other projects in the pipeline, including directing one of the upcoming Tintin films. One of his conditions for directing The Hobbit may be to ensure that filming starts as soon as possible, so as not to delay his other projects any longer than necessary (echoing Del Toro's own sentiments).

The next few days are supposedly crucial to deciding Jackson's involvement, and the future of these films. More on this as it develops...

Thursday, June 24, 2010

The Hobbit pre-production still plodding along

Despite MGM's ongoing financial woes, and last month's news that director Guillermo Del Toro had left the project, pre-production on the upcoming Hobbit films is still moving forward, slowly but steadily

Recently, there were reports that Neill Blomkamp (District 9) had been chosen to direct. These were followed quickly by reports that denied the whole thing.

There have also been casting rumours, concerning some of the dwarf roles. English actor and comedian Bill Bailey is reported to have auditioned for the role of Gloin, the father of Gimli from The Lord of the Rings. Australian actor Simon Westaway is rumoured to have auditioned for the part of Thorin Oakenshield. (Last fall there were similar rumors that Brian Cox and Stephen Fry had also auditioned as dwarves). At this point there is still no confirmation on any of these actors, nor have there been any recent hints as to who will eventually play Bilbo Baggins.

Lastly, construction appears to be proceeding nicely on the Hobbiton set!

Sunday, June 20, 2010

Game of Thrones cast gallery (Season One)

Here is an evolving cast gallery for HBO's Game of Thrones, with fan art by Amok (and a couple other sources) for comparison. The show will feature a huge number of characters, and this list will be updated as news develops.

The pilot episode was filmed in Scotland and Morocco in October 2009. The first season began filming in Northern Ireland and Malta on July 26, 2010. The series will air on HBO in spring 2011.

Sean Bean as
Eddard Stark

Michelle Fairley as
Catelyn Stark

Kit Harington as
Jon Snow

Richard Madden as
Robb Stark ("The Young Wolf")

Sophie Turner as
Sansa Stark

Maisie Williams as
Arya Stark

Isaac Hempstead-Wright as
Brandon Stark

Art Parkinson as
Rickon Stark

Ron Donachie as
Rodrik Cassel

Jamie Sives as
Jory Cassel

Charles Dance as
Tywin Lannister

Peter Dinklage as
Tyrion Lannister ("The Imp")

Nikolaj Coster-Waldau as
Jaime Lannister
("The Kingslayer")

Lena Headey as
Cersei Lannister

Ian Gelder as
Kevan Lannister

Eugene Simon as
Lancel Lannister

Jack Gleeson as
Joffrey Baratheon

Aimee Richardson as
Myrcella Baratheon

Callum Wharry as
Tommen Baratheon

Mark Addy as
Robert Baratheon

Gethin Anthony as
Renly Baratheon

Harry Lloyd as
Viserys Targaryen

Emilia Clarke as
Daenerys Targaryen

Jason Momoa as
Kahl Drogo

Iain Glen as
Jorah Mormont

Aidan Gillen as
Petyr Baelish ("Littlefinger")

Conleth Hill as
Varys the Eunuch ("The Spider")

Julian Glover as
Grand Maester Pycelle

Ian McElhinney as
Barristan Selmy
("Barristan the Bold")

Alfie Owen-Allen as
Theon Greyjoy

Finn Jones as
Loras Tyrell
("The Knight of Flowers")

Rory McCann as
Sandor Clegane ("The Hound")

Conan Stevens as
Gregor Clegane
("The Mountain that Rides")

John Standing as
Jon Arryn

Kate Dickie as
Lysa Arryn

Lino Facioli as
Robin Arryn

David Bradley as
Walder Frey

Clive Mantle as
Jon Umber ("The Greatjon")

James Cosmo as
Jeor Mormont ("The Old Bear")

John Bradley-West as
Samwell Tarly

Peter Vaughan as
Maester Aemon

Joseph Mawle as
Benjen Stark

Owen Teale as
Alliser Thorne

Francis Magee as

Josef Altin as

Mark Stanley as

Natalia Tena as

Jerome Flynn as

Miltos Yerolemou as
Syrio Forel

Sibel Kekilli as

Mark Lewis Jones as

Mia Soteriou as
Mirri Maz Duur

David Michael Scott as
Beric Dondarrion

Joseph Dempsie as

Ben Hawkey as
Hot Pie

Wilko Johnson as
Ilyn Payne

Roger Allam as
Illyrio Mopatis

Donald Sumpter as
Maester Luwin

Margaret John as
Old Nan

Kristian Nairn as

Susan Brown as
Septa Mordane

Dominic Carter as
Janos Slynt

Emun Elliott as

Brendan McCormack as
Vardis Egen

Rob Ostlere as
Waymar Royce

Roxanne McKee as

Amrita Acharia as

Dar Salim as

Elyes Gabel as

Esmé Bianco as

Antonia Christophers as

Sahara Knite as

Ian Beattie as
Meryn Trant

Jefferson Hall as
Ser Hugh of the Vale

Ciaran Bermingham as

Andrew Wilde as
Tobho Mott

Rodri Hosking as

Eros Vlahos as
Lommy Greenhands

Brian Fortune as
Bowen Marsh

Luke McEwan as

Mark Coney as
Lord Glover

Gerry O'Brien as
Lord Bracken

Vincent McCabe as
Lord Karstark

Dermot Keaney as

Bronson Webb as

Stephen Don as

Susie Kelly as
Masha Heddle

Simon Lowe as
Wineseller Assassin

Lalor Roddy as

Hugo Culverhouse as